License Plate Issuance

Most Minnesota vehicles, including cars, pickups and other trucks, and buses, require two license plates to be displayed―one in the front and one in the back of the vehicle. Some vehicles in Minnesota, such as motorcycles, mopeds, and dealer cars, as well as trailers, require only one rear-displayed license plate. License plates issued to passenger automobiles and dealer license plates are replaced at seven (7) year intervals; all other license plates are issued for the life of the vehicle.

Our Rochester License Bureau locations can assist you with these license place issuance.

Types of License Plates

  • Standard License Plates
  • Commercial License Plates
  • Disability (Handicap) License Plates
  • Motorcycle/Moped License Plates
  • Personalized Plates
  • Prorate Plates
  • RV/camper/trailer Plates
  • Special Registration Plates (Limited Licensed Driver)
  • Specialized Plates (HAM Radio, Veteran, Critical Habitat, Firefighter, etc.)
  • Tax Exempt
  • Weight Class Plates

View all special plates offered in Minnesota

Skip to content