Driver License

The Crossroads and Airport View License Bureau’s only process
duplicate drivers license and address changes.

If you are new to MN, you need to go to:

MN Exam Station
1633 North Broadway
Rochester, MN 55901

If you need a MN drivers license renewal, go to:

Courthouse on 4th street OR
Exam station on North Broadway

There are four classes of driver’s licenses and several endorsements available to Minnesota drivers. There are various requirements depending on the type of license or endorsement you are needing.

Types of Licenses

  • Class D: – A Class D License is a regular driver’s license required to operate a vehicle weighing 26,000 pounds or less. It is the most common type of driver’s license.
  • Motorcycle: – Every person who operates a motorcycle on public roads in Minnesota must have a valid driver’s license with the appropriate instruction permit or license endorsement. Motorcyclists must carry these documents with them when riding on public roadways.
  • Commercial Driver – Class A: – A Class A License is required to drive any vehicle towing a unit of more than 10,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating with a gross combination weight rating (truck plus trailer) over 26,000 pounds.
  • Commercial Driver – Class B: – A Class B License is required to drive any single-unit vehicle that is over 26,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating.
  • Commercial Driver – Class C: – A Class C License is required to drive a single-unit vehicle, 26,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or less, with one or more endorsement for hazardous materials, passenger, or school bus (with passenger endorsement).

Commercial Driver License
Any person doing a transaction with a commercial drivers license needs to bring their current health card.